## MAHARASHTRA ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION World Trade Centre, Centre No.1, 13th Floor, Cuffe Parade, Mumbai 400005. Tel. 022 22163964/65/69 Fax 22163976 Email: mercindia@mercindia.org.in Website: www.merc.gov.in

# Case No. 83 of 2014

#### Dated: 5 June, 2014

# <u>CORAM:</u> Smt Chandra Iyengar, Chairperson Shri Vijay L. Sonavane, Member

#### In the matter of:

Petition filed by TPC-D under affidavit on 24.03.2014, under Regulation 74 & 85(a) of MERC (conduct of business) Regulations, 2004 for Review of the Order dated 28.12.2012 issued by the Commission in Case No. 47 of 2012 in the matter of approval of Tata Power –D's "Schedule of Charges" to the extent of the Commission's ruling on charges for (a) Service Connection Charges for "Switchover" consumers as proposed in the petition. (b) "Service shifting on the request of consumer" and "Meter shifting on the request of consumers)"

The Tata Power Company-Distribution

.....Petitioner

Shri. V. H Wagle

Smt. Swati Mehendale

Representative(s) of the Petitioner:

## **Daily Order**

Heard the representatives of the Petitioner. Petitioner is directed to submit as follows:

(i) Petitioner has proposed exemption from payment of Service connection charges, only for Switchover consumers, with consumption of 0-300 units per month for one year. There appears discrimination done by the Petitioner amongst consumers. Petitioner is directed to submit its rationale/justification for discriminatory treatment between consumers. Petitioner is also directed to submit its action plan for managing the switchover applications received after proposed period of one year.

(ii)The financial impact on its Tariff considering the proposed exemption from payment of 'Service Connection Charges' for the switchover consumers.

(iii) Break up of Consumers on the basis of expenses incurred for the activity of "Shifting of Service", as per the request from consumers and where it is needed for safety or operational requirement.

Next date of hearing shall be communicated by the Secretariat of the Commission.

Sd/-(Vijay L. Sonavane) Member Sd/-(Chandra Iyengar) Chairperson